Watch “Hitchhiking Europe – Crete – Triopetra” on YouTube

I’m back. This time, a little further East down the coast, in an area called Triopetra, which means “three rocks.” I have been here about three weeks now, and the time, as usual, is flying by.

I left Palaiochora much easier than expected, getting a ride within minutes by a very Cretan man named Manos. His driving had me a little fearful at times as we were driving in the other Lane around many of the mountainous bends in the rather old road. He worked at the hospital in chania, and dropped me off nearby. Not so long after he came back, shouting to get in the bed of his pickup. Something about having to race to Heraklion because of some patient (no idea what his job actually was). So on a fairly chilly day, plus wind chill of course, I’m racing along the northern Coast, making record time and loving seeing the faces of all the people who didn’t pick me up pass into the distance as we zipped around pretty much everyone.

I got dropped off in Rethimno, and headed back into civilization. Eventually I caught up with the only couch surfer that accepted me in pretty much all of Crete, Yannis. After talking to pretty much just myself and an employee of a pizzeria for two weeks, I was suddenly spending days and days around…  So many people. In the first few days I had slept at two or three different houses, and stayed up till the wee hours of the morning. I was spent. I met some lovely and interesting people of the alternative scenes (which I can’t say I’ve seen much of in this country), and I ended up staying a week there. Of course having a couch, a shower, and a hideout from the weather was lovely… Naturally the weather was suddenly blue skies and warm after having a roof to sleep under, though!

After a week or so, I headed south, destination Matala and the old hippie caves. Except, I get picked up by a lady who tells me of a cave on a beach, relatively quiet and secluded. Of course I decided to take this side quest. So turning off at the little village of akoumia, I ventured on, planning on a couple days.

Three weeks later, I’m staying in an old renovated house just up from the cave. On my third day I was leaving, but a man I hitched a ride with seemed to like my story, and offered me food and a place to sleep in exchange for work. This was actually the first time someone has offered me work spontaneously, so of course I said yes… Only for a few days… But who was I kidding?

I’ve been working for a man named Yannis (popular name) in his gardens mostly, on a hill above the ocean where he has a few rental apartments. He is Cretan through and through, from the village above, and has filled me in on Cretan history (the German invasion being the most interesting… Of course), food (first time eating snails), music (best I’ve heard in Greece so far), and treating me overall quite well. I have spent  a lot of time around his family, worked out some muscles I haven’t used in quite a while, and had a house all to myself. Almost become part of the family, like some distant strange cousin or something.

Time keeps passing, however, and it’s time to move on. Time to become the stranger again and finally start making some miles on the road. Spring is here, and the weather is mostly good. I really must get moving before it magically becomes summer and it’s too hot to move for half the day! There is so much to see, and now it’s feeling like there isn’t so much time. I’m seriously thinking of being home in mid or late August for a close friends wedding, so that gives me maybe four months. A long time for some travellers, but not enough for me. I could easily spend a big chunk of my life doing what I’m doing, and still not see most of the world. But I’ll do what I do, and as the Greeks, and especially Cretans say, siga siga (slowly slowly).

About OutsideYourWorld

I'm a Canadian from Vancouver, BC. In the winter of 2011 I quit my job and sold as much as I could to travel. I began in the summer of 2012, in Glasgow, Scotland. I have travelled since then, and don't plan on returning home for a while yet. I travel to experience different cultures, languages, landscapes, and to further my knowledge of... myself. Travel is what makes me happiest, so on I go.
This entry was posted in europe, hitchhiking, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

