The… stormy coast of Greece

Rides:
Horefto – (a town south I cannot spell.. Starts with an “m.”): Ellen/Adrigos
(M town) – Kissos: Stellios
Kissos – Mouresi: Construction man
Mouresi – Tsagarada: truck man
South of Tsagarada – Kala Nera: Black truck family
Afissos – North of Argalasti: Dimitras/Desayce (sp?)
North of Argalasti – Argalasti: Fancy vehicle man
Argalasti – Milina: Red truck couple
Koykoyleika – Trikeri: Stathis
Port of Trikeri – Trikeri: French couple
Trikeri – Milina: Yellow van man
Milina – Horto: French couple (again)

I sit in a little cafe, Casablanca it be named, in the very quiet village of Horto, on the Southern area of Pilion… Oh yes, I
am still here. But while I take my bloody time exploring and lazing about, I dare say I have had a much better experience than most who travel to this peninsula. Here be why…

I do believe I last reported in while in Horefto, as myself and my travel crew lazed about on Parisena beach, befriending cats, eating many many oranges, and eating as much free rice and pasta as we could before our legs and thumbs took us elsewhere. We made sorta-kinda friends with the local alcoholic, who seemed to suffer from Amnesia, or simply liked repeating the exact same questions continuously. The words “Steve Canada! One, two, three O’Clock, gold (cold) gold?” But he wasn’t the only local a bit confused that after all the tourist hordes had left, we moved in for two some-odd weeks. Especially with the temperature getting colder, and the sun setting around 5:20 these days. We also made best friends with mainly one cat that we named Grey. A lovely cat that hung around with us most of the day, and especially at meal times. At night he would sometimes crawl into one of our sleeping bags… We will very much miss that cat.

One of us departed, the Swissman Hans (is that what you call them?) for a walk from Kavala to Istanbul. Myself and Furi continued South to the end of Pilion. Our last sight of our base at Horefto was seeing a couple of the local atray dogs chasing us down the road as we got a lift in a pickup truck. I will also miss those dogs…

We passed through Kissos, Mouresi, Tsagarada, Afissos, Koykoyleikia, and Trikeri before turning back North… Seeing many villages I could not remember the names of, that or spelling their names is beyond me.

Tsagarada was one of my favourites, the huge Platana (at least a thousand years old I believe) in the town center was beautiful, and we had the luck of having a nearby abandoned hotel to sleep outside of, and explore the next day. Somehow there were still two crates of beer left in the basement… Which we would have tapped into had we known the night before.

As we headed south, rides were harder to get, and we ended up walking between some of the villages instead. Not bad, Pilion is a lovely place to walk through. One such walk took us from Milina to Koykoyleiki where, nearing the end of daylight, we were invited for coffee and eventually dinner by one of the local families. The neighbors joined us, which basically meant the entire village was there at one point (less than 20 people). Such kind and hospitable people. The younger of the family, Costas, even walked us out to the nearby beach to show us a place to sleep out of the wind. Though after a few Tsiporou I could have slept anywhere… Oh, and the next day I found out I was aleeping next to what must have been a bomb from WW2. For me that was just very… cool.

Rain was forecasted for the next few days, so hitching on an already sparse road wasn’t too pleasant. Though one man did stop, Stathis, who drove us on down to Trikeri and he too invited us into his home for lunch. Turns out he saves animals, dogs and cats, so I had all the animals to play with that I could want. And as the rains turned to a storm, they even let us spend a couple of nights at their home. We were a bit overwhelmed by all the kindness we had been subjected to! Everyone seemed kind and generous, even the baker who offered to leave us bread outside his door so we could get it whwn he was closed. “You pay later.” Its wonderful to see a community that is not gripped by fear of others, even foreigners.

Trikeri was a beautiful town as well, siutated on top of a hill on the Southern end of Pilion, overlooking Evia further South. The very narrow roads and many empty old houses were nice to wander through and by, talking to all the cats and just mellowing.

After a couple of days we caughtva break in the clouds, and headed back North. Time to leave Pilion… Har… Not more than 40kms from Trikeri we got that day, in Horto. But as we found a nice beachy spot to camp near, we were just glad ot hadn’t rained. But the next day it did, and hard.

What else can one do when it is absolutley pouring rain? Not much. So we spent the day hiding under the roof of a closed bar, drinking coffee and befriending cats. That is until a couple ladies walked by, Maria and Erika, who invited us over to Marias’ cafe, Casablanca. So here we have been for a couple of days now, with almoat endless rain, spending our time reading or hanging around the cafe with our two new friends (who are spiritually minded, interesting people, so good conversation).

It seems we always get stuck on our way to Thermopolis. We always end up sitting somewhere, and getting comfortable. Not that I’m complaining, I think we get a much more intimate view of the plqces we pass through this way.

Just because, a couple of animal pictures:

Not all those who wander are lost

About OutsideYourWorld

I'm a Canadian from Vancouver, BC. In the winter of 2011 I quit my job and sold as much as I could to travel. I began in the summer of 2012, in Glasgow, Scotland. I have travelled since then, and don't plan on returning home for a while yet. I travel to experience different cultures, languages, landscapes, and to further my knowledge of... myself. Travel is what makes me happiest, so on I go.
This entry was posted in backpacking, europe, travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

