Alrighty, FINALLY a picture post

Image

-Randomly helping farmers in Transylvania

 

 

Image

-Typical Saxon village in Transylvania, now mostly inhabited by Gypsys. Complete with Soviet schoolhouse.

Image

Image

 

Fortified towers in most old Romanian towns

 

 

 

 

ImageImageImage

 

TransFagarasan

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ImageImage

Away from Romania, and my final look at the Danube. The nucelar city of Ruse, Bulgaria, ahead.

 

 

 

 

 

Image

Protests in Sofia

 

Image

ImageImage

The night it got violent at the protests

 

 

Image

politicians trying to flee in a bus. Windows getting smashed, police starting to get violent as well.

ImageImage

Some of the final scenes before most people started leaving

Image

My first camping spot in Greece.

Image

Old Roman forum in Thessaloniki

Image

Kastoria, on my way to the Rainbow Gathering on mount Gramos

Image

Home for a month at Rainbow

Image

Putting on our proud faces atop one peak of Gramos

Image

My Rainbow staff, forever sitting on that peak above the Rainbow camp… Until it falls, of course.

Image

Rainbow shower

Image

Evil tree.

Image

Rainbow oven.

Image

Last Rainbow sunrise.

Image
Of the two thousand or so people at Rainbow, we were the last to walk off the mountain.

Image

Hermitages in Meteora

Image

Cave church in Meteora

Image

One of… twelve, I believe, monasteries in Meteora

Image

Skulls of dead monks. One of which is supposed to smell of roses.

ImageImage

My first beach sunrise in Greece.

Image

Old signs, like old friends.

 

Image

Our friend George on the beach in Litochoro. Fed us maybe 300 euros worth of octopus and was very much the image of a hospitable Greek.

Image

Olympus rainbow

Image

ImageImage

Image

Olympus conquered.

Image

A dog (that I swore I saw all the way down at the beach), that followed people randomly up to the top of Olympus. Just another stray wandering about.

 

Image

Old monastery on Olympis. Destroyed by the Nazi’s but finally being rebuilt.

ImageImage

Cave church on Olympus.

Image

Just another dog to play with.

Image

Abandoned summer shacks we took over in Kokkino Nero.

Image

Byzantine Bridge above Kokkino Nero

Image

Many of the houses in Kokkino Nero are built around the old trees, one of the main things I liked about that town.

Image

We fortified our shacks against heavy lightning storms.

Image

Just another beach friend.

Image

Bunker complex on the way to Volos.

Image

Abandoned home on Pilion, near Volos.

Image

So many old trees on Pilion. Such beautiful forests.

ImageImageImage

Early 1900’s sanitarium near our camp on Pilion.

ImageImage

The sanitarium church in remarkably good condition.

 

ImageImageImage

Cave dog with puppies near our Pilion camp

ImageImageImage

Where we are now. Horefto, near Zagora… Still on Pilion.

Image

Another abandoned beach shack. This one with stocks of rice and pasta.

ImageImage

Our beach cat… One of many, but this one is the best.

OK, so, those were a few pictures from Romania to here in Greece. A bit hard to choose from so many, and others are on a memory card that is screwing up a bit, so I will have to solve that before I can get at them.

It was nice taking the time to go over all those somehwat recent memories. I have been through a fair number of places since even Romania, and met many people. Christmas is not TOO far away, and like last year, it has me thinking of family, mainly, but also of all the people I have met since I began my trip, a year and… 3 some-odd months ago. Time seems to fly for me, though looking back on where I have been and whop I have met, it seems ages ago already, and almost as if I am already a different person from before. Always changing, hopefully for the better!

We have been sitting on yet another beach here in Horefto for almost two weeks. This seems to be what we do best, hah. The weather still allows for swimming, though it is getting noticeably colder. The nights are not freezing, getting to around 10 celsius now. For a Canadian it is ok, but when we finally get off our asses, it is South as usual. Our trio is due to split soon, as the others eventually head back home for Christmas, and being that I am half a world away from home, I shall just keep doing what I am doing, and keep living life as it comes.

About OutsideYourWorld

I'm a Canadian from Vancouver, BC. In the winter of 2011 I quit my job and sold as much as I could to travel. I began in the summer of 2012, in Glasgow, Scotland. I have travelled since then, and don't plan on returning home for a while yet. I travel to experience different cultures, languages, landscapes, and to further my knowledge of... myself. Travel is what makes me happiest, so on I go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

