Life on the farm so far

So yet again the place where I have set down my rucksack has kept me longer than I thought it would. Fresh air, stars at night, five dogs, two cats, and a few less chickens than when I first got here… It’s too easy to get used to life here.

For the first three weeks or so, there were at least three snow storms, and inbetween that, lots of rain. There wasn’t much work to be done, and so I ended up reading lots of books. No complaints, really. The owner, Kata, has taught me a fair bit about the area, and introduced me to her family. I was even invited to her brothers’ concert – which was a sort of opera/jazz sort of thing. He’s apparently famous in Hungary.

Now that the weather has actually turned into spring, i’ve been working a fair bit most days. Hauling bricks, hay, digging, tearing down old walls, attempting to keep bugs from the orchards (which we ended up losing the battle for). Most of my work has been easy but time consuming stuff. But with my music on, I enjoy it. I’ve been getting colour back into my skin (it was such a long winter), and some strength back in my body for the future road south.

The plan so far is to get a few lighter pieces of gear for the hot countries coming up. Travelling in such heat with a heavy pack wouldn’t be so fun, I’ll either store my colder weather gear somewhere, or ship it home.

No dates are decided, as usual. I clearly take my time, but what better way to immerse yourself in the countries you travel through, eh?

No rush… But I really do want to see the ocean again!

About OutsideYourWorld

I'm a Canadian from Vancouver, BC. In the winter of 2011 I quit my job and sold as much as I could to travel. I began in the summer of 2012, in Glasgow, Scotland. I have travelled since then, and don't plan on returning home for a while yet. I travel to experience different cultures, languages, landscapes, and to further my knowledge of... myself. Travel is what makes me happiest, so on I go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

