First time sailing a yacht – feeling more and more at home in the top of a bus

So there actually isn’t all that much to say for this post. I am still at the boatyard in the Isle of Skye, on my Workaway job. However, i have been learning, and have had the time to read through most of my book (Dark Tower volume three!).

The atmosphere here is great. Everyone I work with, and everyone who passes through the yard has a laid back attitude. The work is hard at times, from sanding and painting boats and stripping down engines, to tarping up tree bases in preparation for the winter… Followed by lots of mellowing out and generally soaking up the good vibes.

The high point, thus far, is my first REAL sail on a yacht! Though I only steered the thing, I observed the more knowledgeable ones as they went about their business of raising and adjusting the various sails. It all comes with time and practice! I must say, i’m warming up to the idea of one day getting into yachting… One day.

Anyways, I was able to upload pictures from Orkney, and my hitching trip down the west coast. So here we go:

Luckily I got a spectacular view of the standing stones of Brodgar as I walked up to them

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

About OutsideYourWorld

I'm a Canadian from Vancouver, BC. In the winter of 2011 I quit my job and sold as much as I could to travel. I began in the summer of 2012, in Glasgow, Scotland. I have travelled since then, and don't plan on returning home for a while yet. I travel to experience different cultures, languages, landscapes, and to further my knowledge of... myself. Travel is what makes me happiest, so on I go.
This entry was posted in backpacking, europe, scotland, travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

