Hiking, and planning for the north-bound adventure!

Image

Alrighty then, it’s been about a week… I’m going to update about every week… I would assume, and hope that there are enough interesting things happening to me within a weeks time to warrant a post! (Also, soon to come, equipment list, maybe with a video if i’m feeling swell enough to do so)

So, this past week I have done two hikes, up two hills. These being Scottish hills, so not small, but not as high as my beloved Rockies…. Which is a good thing, i’m definitely not fit enough to climb a bloody mountain.

Hill one was Kings Seat, which stands above the town of Dollar, near Stirling. The route up goes past Castle Campbell, which for monetary reasons I decided not to venture into (5 pounds to see a fairly small castle? Nah. I love looking at castles, and venturing into castle ruins, but wandering inside really isn’t that dandy to me, especially for 5 pounds!), so on I walked.

ImageI walked until I got a good view of the area below, but on turning around, that big hill in the background just looked too inviting not to climb… So I headed for it. About a quarter of the way up I realized I left my camera a decent ways back, on a bench. So after swearing at myself a little, I strolled back down, grabbed it, and decided to take a gentler approach up the hill.

I walked through some lovely bogs on my way up, and managed to find a little stream that miraculously hadn’t been crapped in by goats! I was about empty on my water, so it was quite nice.

The hike up that hill was death on the legs, but well worth it. I could see from Glenrothes, to Glasgow waay in the background. The opposite view held rolling hills as far as I could see. I had lunch with Mcduck, and happily relaxed all by my lonesome on top of Kings Seat.

Image

The way back was fairly uneventful… Besides not finding one “telephone box” that worked. I’m still not getting a cell phone.

The next hike was a few days after, up nearby West Lomond hill. A basic walk, with a pretty easy incline, save for the wind which you could lean into, almost at a 45 degree angle, and not risk falling. Just another walk to get my legs ready for many walks ahead on my trip…. And instead of calling up the cousins for a lift back to town, I figured the 17km walk back wasn’t too bad. I got to talk to some cows along the way, anyway.

Image

So, tuesday, assuming the weather is at least not terrible, I am heading to Fort William, to hike Britains tallest hill. I should easily make it within a day, and I will likely be enjoying my first wild camping of my trip thus far. After that, I head for the Orkney islands, once again, to visit a friend I made last time.

Dandy times.

About OutsideYourWorld

I'm a Canadian from Vancouver, BC. In the winter of 2011 I quit my job and sold as much as I could to travel. I began in the summer of 2012, in Glasgow, Scotland. I have travelled since then, and don't plan on returning home for a while yet. I travel to experience different cultures, languages, landscapes, and to further my knowledge of... myself. Travel is what makes me happiest, so on I go.
This entry was posted in backpacking, europe, scotland, travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

