Preparations

Time in the military taught me that detailed preparation is key to whatever else follows. For those going to a resort down in Mexico, or flying straight to their destination of choice, preparation doesn’t really mean all that much, besides saving money. For hitchhikers, it can be the difference between soaking/freezing at night, trying to survive without a fire or sustenance, or laying back comfortably pondering what the next day will bring. That being said, there are those who take a minimalist approach. To each their own, but I prefer to carry the extra weight and have what I don’t need, than to need what I don’t have.

Anyway, I am still gathering a few more supplies, and somewhat unfortunately I bought a ticket for the Roger Waters concert coming near the end of the month. I’ll be spending that time getting used to my rucksack once again, so that when I do hit the road, it’s not going to end up with sore muscles and misery on the first day. 

And for some of us, the hardest part of a journey is leaving those you love, and stepping out the door. 

About OutsideYourWorld

I'm a Canadian from Vancouver, BC. In the winter of 2011 I quit my job and sold as much as I could to travel. I began in the summer of 2012, in Glasgow, Scotland. I have travelled since then, and don't plan on returning home for a while yet. I travel to experience different cultures, languages, landscapes, and to further my knowledge of... myself. Travel is what makes me happiest, so on I go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Preparations

  1. Tim Shey says:

    As you hitchhike and travel all over the place, you will see what gear you need and what gear you don’t need. People have given me things on the road that I really didn’t need–I don’t like to carry extra weight–so I would give it to someone else or throw it away.

    “My Backpack”
    http://tim-shey.blogspot.com/2010/07/my-backpack.html

    • I have been on a fair number of outings in the past, including two months in northern Europe. It gave me a good idea of what I needed and didn’t need, so that’s what i’m basing my equipment around this time. I plan on living out in the bush quite a bit as well, fishing, hiking, etc. I myself like the extra 😀

      After checking yours, I found out you’re a well known Digihitcher! I’m “Stevek” on that website. I had looked at your backpack before, too.

Leave a Reply

